Canada leads the way at 2017 NHL Entry Draft


Canadian hockey was front and centre this past weekend in Chicago, Ill.,
with 81 prospects (77 Canadian-born, four with dual citizenship) selected
at the 2017 NHL Entry Draft.

The 77 players born in Canada were the most of any country, 27 ahead of the
second-place United States.

Nolan Patrick was the first of 11 Canadians selected in the first round,
going second overall to the Philadelphia Flyers. The Winnipeg, Man., native
captained Canada Red at the 2014 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, and
helped Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team to a
seventh-consecutive gold medal at the 2015 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup.

Some of the draftees are also alumni of Hockey Canada’s national events.
Among them, Cale Makar (fourth overall to Colorado) was twice named MVP at
the RBC Cup, Canada’s National Junior A Championship. He was also a
two-time all-star at the World Junior A Challenge.

Eight of 13 Hockey Canada members were represented, led by 33 selections
from the Ontario Hockey Federation.


Ontario Hockey Federation (33) –
Trenton Bourque, Matt Brassard, Jacob Bryson, Nick Campoli, Michael
DiPietro, MacKenzie Entwistle, Mario Ferraro, Alex Formenton, Morgan Frost,
Jonah Gadjovich, Zach Gallant, Brady Gilmour, Jacob Golden, Fedor Gordeev,
Nicolas Hague, Noel Hoefenmayer, Ben Jones, Johnny Kovacevic, Ryan
McGregor, Bryce Misley, Markus Phillips, Isaac Ratcliffe, Will Reilly, Nate
Schnarr, Matthew Strome, Jack Studnicka, Nick Suzuki, Robert Thomas, Conor
Timmims, Owen Tippett, Gabe Vilardi, Matt Villalta, Reilly Webb

Hockey Alberta (13) –
Jaret Anderson-Dolan, Zach Fischer, Parker Foo, Kale Howarth, Cale Makar,
Skyler McKenzie, Ian Mitchell, Kyle Olson, Ian Scott, Mason Shaw, Stuart
Skinner, Tyler Steenbergen, Lane Zablocki

Hockey Quebec (9) –
Jocktan Chainey, Maxime Comtois, Arnaud Durandeau, D’Artagnan Joly,
Pierre-Olivier Joseph, Antoine Morand, David Noël, Cédric Paré, Zachary

Hockey Manitoba (8) –
Josh Brook, Brett Davis, Morgan Geekie, Cody Glass, Nick Henry, Wyatt
Kalynuk, Stelio Mattheos, Nolan Patrick

B.C. Hockey (7) –
Brendan De Jong, Dylan Ferguson, Cal Foote, Jordan Hollett, Michael
Rasmussen, Jarret Tyszka, Scott Walford

Hockey Eastern Ontario (5) –
Cameron Crotty, Cole Fraser, Liam Hawel, Ryan O’Connell, Jacob Paquette

Hockey Nova Scotia (3) –
Morgan Barron, Drake Batherson, Shane Bowers

Saskatchewan Hockey Association (3) –
Cale Fleury, Jake Leschyshyn, Kole Lind

Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence was well represented, with 38 alumni
hearing their names called. The Program of Excellence includes the World
Under-17 Hockey Challenge, Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup, IIHF U18 World
Championship and IIHF World Junior Championship.

Included in that list are eight players who helped Canada White to a gold
medal at the 2015 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, the first for a Canadian
team in the national team format that was introduced in 2014.


2017 National Men’s Under-18 Team
Jaret Anderson-Dolan, Josh Brook, Jocktan Chainey, Maxime Comtois,
MacKenzie Entwistle, Cody Glass, Liam Hawel, Stelio Mattheos, Ian Mitchell,
David Noël, Kyle Olson, Isaac Ratcliffe, Nate Schnarr, Ian Scott, Matthew
Strome, Jack Studnicka

2016 National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team
Shane Bowers, Josh Brook, Maxime Comtois, Michael DiPietro, MacKenzie
Entwistle, Stelio Mattheos, Ian Mitchell, Markus Phillips, Michael
Rasmussen, Ian Scott, Matthew Strome, Jack Studnicka, Nick Suzuki, Owen

2016 National Men’s Under-18 Team
Maxime Comtois, Michael DiPietro, Nicolas Hague, Markus Phillips, Mason
Shaw, Stuart Skinner, Owen Tippett

2015 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge
Jaret Anderson-Dolan (CAN White), Shane Bowers (CAN Black), Josh Brook (CAN
Red), Jocktan Chainey (CAN Black), Maxime Comtois (CAN Red), Brett Davis
(CAN White), Michael DiPietro (CAN Red), Arnaud Durandeau (CAN Black),
MacKenzie Entwistle (CAN Red), Zach Gallant (CAN Red), Brady Gilmour (CAN
Black), Cody Glass (CAN Red), Ben Jones (CAN Black), Jake Leschyshyn (CAN
Black), Antoine Morand (CAN Red), Stelio Mattheos (CAN Black), Ian Mitchell
(CAN White), Jacob Paquette (CAN Red), Markus Phillips (CAN Red), Michael
Rasmussen (CAN Black), Isaac Ratcliffe (CAN Red), Ian Scott (CAN White),
Matthew Strome (CAN Black), Jack Studnicka (CAN Red), Nick Suzuki (CAN
White), Robert Thomas (CAN White), Owen Tippett (CAN White), Gabe Vilardi
(CAN White), Scott Walford (CAN Black)

2015 National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team
Nolan Patrick

2014 (Nov.) World Under-17 Hockey Challenge
Nicolas Hague (CAN White), Nolan Patrick (CAN Red), Stuart Skinner (CAN
Black), Mason Shaw (CAN Red)

2014 (Jan.) World Under-17 Hockey Challenge
Wyatt Kalynuk (West)

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Edmonton Oilers, Kyle Brodziak Banking on Successful Reunion
Aleksander Barkov takes over as captain of Florida Panthers
Edmonton Oilers’ Professional Tryout Expectations
Buffalo Sabres list Conor Sheary week to week with upper-body injury
Detroit Red Wings captain Henrik Zetterberg’s back injury is ending his hockey career

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *